Uncategorized

Summer is over: My tips for getting back to reality

Summer is over and now it’s time to get back to reality. Sleeping till late into the afternoon and having picnics in the park with friends has sadly come to an end. As a year 13 student at sixth form (also referred to as college) I have a lot of things I now need to focus on with regards to my future. So the thought of homework, coursework, university applications and exam prep all seem quite daunting. In order to make my life easier I thought of 5 things which would make the inevitable end of my summer break bearable.  Hopefully these tips will be useful for you too.

Continue reading for my 5 top tips written below:

1) Try to go to bed and wake up at normal times a few days before you go back. 

Tiredness does not work well with stress. If you’re like me and your sleeping pattern becomes non-existent during the holidays then this makes it easier to adjust back to a schedule.  Plus having a few extra hours of sleep never hurt anyone.

2) Get a calender or notebook and write a list of things to look forward to.

Have you ever heard of the saying ‘time flies when you’re having fun’. Well my version is ‘time flies when you have fun things to look forward to’. Sometimes work and school being fun is an impossibility and this tip really is a necessity. Whether it’s big or small this definitely makes life more enjoyable.

3) Be more positive than before.

Life is always better with a positive outlook and that’s a fact. If you’re a slightly more negative person like me then this tip is perfect for you. I have even tried it out for myself and it really has made my life much happier. Therefore this will inevitably make the idea of going back to the reality of school/work manageable.

4) Treat yourself.

Everyone enjoys pampering themselves because it makes us all feel better. It especially helps me ease myself back into my normal routine and it should help you too.  Something as simple as having a bubble bath or your favourite chocolate really will make all the difference.

5) Choose something good about everyday.

Similar to positivity, optimism greatly improves the quality of everyday life. A lot of people complain about the reality of working or studying after the holidays because it seems so much worse in comparison. I’m not impartial to complaining about things myself. However I’ve decided to try and choose something good about everyday because I truly believe it will help. If I can do it then so can you.

Until next time keep dreaming x

One thought on “Summer is over: My tips for getting back to reality

Leave a Reply

