Random comtemplations

Time passing quickly

The saying ‘life’s too short’ is something many people, including myself, have said but never fully appreciated. It’s something that we all say as a passing comment without consciously realising the full weight of its meaning.The truth is we are all guilty of taking things for granted and not noticing the changes in our lives. After recently downloading Timehop I have realised that some people who I considered to be a close friend a few years ago are now more like a stranger. Some of the tweets I sent weren’t remotely interesting and where do I even start with the embarrassing photos. I’m aware of the time passing quickly yet I still feel like these memories were only created yesterday.

It only just dawned on me recently that it has been over a year, nearly two, since I left school and that makes me sad. Don’t get me wrong my school days weren’t perfect. I complained about the work and the lessons I didn’t like attending. I had unnecessary arguments with friends which stressed me out. I even remember crying during a lesson and having to retreat to the girls toilets to sort out my face…and life (I admit that’s slightly over dramatic). However lately I’ve been more concerned about the idea of growing up and deciding my future.This has inevitably led to me realising how quickly time is passing and it makes me personally feel quite uneasy.

I’ve heard a few adults say they would love to re-live their teenage years. As I’m still a teenager I would say that toddling around at two was a pretty great life. The time before nursery, when learning a new letter in the alphabet was an achievement. When you didn’t care that your mum had dressed you in an outfit, which was so shockingly colourful, that you looked like a mix of all of the Teletubbies.  The time before I was concerned about what people thought of me and was the most comfortable in my own skin. When people didn’t change to be someone their not and we weren’t separated by popularity. These were the moments before I realised that time was passing quickly.

So yes I’m 17 years old and I have my ‘whole life ahead of me’. I still have time to change my career path and create an idealistic life plan. I can still make little mistakes and blame it on the fact that I’m young and ‘it’s just a learning curve’. However it’s scary to know that when I leave college in 2015 I won’t be going back. I’ll be moving on and meeting new people just like the first day of nursery and the first day of school. The truth is that time passing quickly is an inevitability, but it’s the decisions you make that are a choice. From now on I’m going to be more appreciative of happy moments because ‘time flies when you’re having fun’ and that’s not so bad after all.

Until next time keep dreaming x

3 thoughts on “Time passing quickly

  1. I completely understand what you mean about time. I’m 19 and a sophomore in college, but it really seems like a few weeks ago that I was freaking out about the SAT and APs. People say time will slow down if you take everything step by step, but I don’t know if that’s how it works. Youth is just the period of our life that passes by in a flash. I also miss the carefree days of childhood, but don’t worry about college or the future. It’s really a lot of fun 🙂 Also, if you’re interested, you can check out this post I wrote about on time: http://conqueringanthropophobia.wordpress.com/2014/10/09/time-warp/

    Like

  2. I know what you mean about how time passes very quickly. You have to really appreciate every day as it passes. The last two years went by real fast. In 2012 December I graduate. In 2013 I get a health problem that prevents me from moving forward and looking for jobs. In 2014 after I recovered from my health problem I have a mental health problem that takes up the year. Now another health problem but somewhere along the line I got like 400 stories written which was great. At least looking back at those years I didn’t waste those years I was working hard every day almost and have all these stories to look back on. I can only look at a positive way though I was sick and couldn’t work I have written all those stories and have them to look back on. I think in the two years I improved my writing and I got to do what I loved so it was a very good thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

