Uncategorized

Bonfire Night

Every year on the 5th of November people all over Britain set off fireworks and light bonfires. It is an annual event which was originally called Guy Fawkes night but is now more commonly known as Bonfire night. I thought that I might as well write about the historical reasons behind Bonfire night and share my personal experiences.

So if you don’t live in Britain you’re probably wondering…What is Bonfire night? It all started when a gunpowder plot, which was devised to kill the king, inevitably failed. A man called Guy Fawkes , who had been a part of the gunpowder plot against the House of Lords, was arrested on the 5th of November. As a result people decided to light bonfires in London to celebrate the fact that they had failed to kill King James I. This later became known as Bonfire Night and is now an annual celebration.

Nearly every year I have enjoyed my local firework display. Tonight was just as great as usual so I thought I’d take the opportunity to write a short blog post about the reason Bonfire night even exists. I originally wanted to share some of the photos I took but since they weren’t the best quality I have only uploaded one.

Until next time keep dreaming x

2 thoughts on “Bonfire Night

  1. Okay. So THAT’s the reason. I was on instagram and these bunch of random girls were staying stuff like ‘OMG I can see the fireworks from my window!” The other one said “OMG, me too!”

    I couldn’t understand, of course. Now I get the deal. Thanks for the update!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

