Random comtemplations

New beginnings in 2015

I was once given a card which had this written on the back. I always loved how it managed to express something of great importance in its most simple form.
I was once given a card which had this written on the back. I always loved how it managed to express something of great importance in its most simple form.

I always feel somewhat reflective, even nostalgic, as another year comes to an end. For the past few years I have always secretly had a new years resolution to improve upon or achieve something I didn’t have chance to in the previous year. Admittedly I have failed to fulfill these things quite a few times but the idea of anything being possible never fails to excite me.

When 2014 started I was hopeful. I was yet to take my first as-level exams which left me feeling stressed and most definitely disheartened at times. I was convinced that I would finally finish writing my debut novel and would try not to waste all of my free time on my laptop or just lounging around in my house. I believed that anything was possible as everyone does at midnight on the 31st December every year. Unfortunately, my determination to fulfill these new years resolutions dwindled as the months passed by.

Therefore, having learnt from the past, I am entering 2015 with a tentative but positive attitude. I am determined to finally finish that first draft of a story which I wholeheartedly believe in. I want to achieve the things I have always wanted by not allowing the unpredictability of life to get in the way. I want to live in the moment but not get consumed by it. For once I want to say I did everything I set out to do and I didn’t let low confidence or my socially awkward nature get in the way. Maybe then I will finally manage to speak my thoughts as easily as I can write them down on a page.

This year is the beginning of my life as an adult. I hope to make the most of it. I want to go to university and work hard so that I can say I’m proud of my successes in the future. I don’t want to be ‘a what could have been’ but somebody that achieved everything they wanted. Lastly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to read this because it’s inspiring my to continue doing what I love. It is this support that encourages me to remain hopeful about one day fulfilling my writing dreams.

Until next time keep dreaming x

One thought on “New beginnings in 2015

  1. You will do great in college and achieve what you want to. You are so young and have your whole life ahead of you. Don’t take life too seriously, work hard and have fun. Try not to worry you are a great writer and the best is yet to come.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

