Random comtemplations

Dealing with Disappointment

Today was not what I wanted it to be and I’m downhearted to say the least.

I want to go to university, well, at least I think I do. Okay, I don’t know what I want and that stresses me out. I don’t even know why I suddenly chose to write down my thoughts, except for the fact that I visited a university and it didn’t live up to my expectations. I was uninspired and left questioning all of the decisions I had already made for my academic future. How is this even possible?

For months I have been set on studying creative writing and English at university. I was excited about improving my writing and gaining skills I may have previously overlooked.Β The course should be perfect for people like me. I thought it was but…now I’m not so sure.

What should I do now? A small, well significant, disappointment may have changed my complete outlook on my future. Where do I go from here? The truth is I don’t know the correct answer.

I hate being unprepared for anything. I hate last-minute decisions. I hate not knowing what I’m doing when I have a deadline I need to meet. Today all of those things were making me feel uncertain, but I overcame them.Β I confirmed my firm offer for a different university. So, I’ll keep writing in my spare time and working towards grades that will eventually count for something bigger than a certificate. In the end I decided that I would rather give my course a chance than let disappointment discourage me entirely.

How do you deal with disappointment? Let me know in the comments.

Until next time keep dreaming x

One thought on “Dealing with Disappointment

  1. Well today was a great example I have been battling Diabetes for 5 years and have done a great job but lately I’ve been struggling. My diabetes doctor was pushing for me to stick myself with a needle every day to help me lose weight and help me feel not hungry. I felt very disappointed. I feel like I haven’t been given a fair shot at turning things around. My nutritionist has only told me what I can’t eat with only thirty mins with her the time expired before she could give me meal options. With this cold weather I can’t go out and exercise. Very cold weather. Also I’ve been under a high amount of stress lately and it could be the stress driving the sugar up. I just turn to my writing. It makes me happy and I watch wrestling. My dr can’t force me to do that and I believe in myself and know I can get my blood sugars down easily soon when the weather helps me get out more and I get more visits with the nutritionist.

    Like

Leave a Reply

