Random comtemplations

I’m only human

Why does my brain fill with creative ideas when I don’t have the time to actually complete any writing projects? This a question I have been asking myself a whole lot lately.

I have exams that start in less than a month. Yes, I am quietly stressing over the revision I should be doing whilst writing this blog post. However, unlike an entire novel, I can actually finish this today so I might as well keep writing.

Let’s just say I had a plan. It was the kind of plan that I’ve had for the past few years. I realise that it was hopeful but maybe just a little bit too ambitious for me right now. I was going to log out of all my social media sites (oops I only survived a day). I was going to have a revision schedule (unfortunately I never put pen to paper with that idea). I was basically going to spend any spare time, aside from college work, revising. My answer when people ask why I have currently failed to properly achieve those things is…I’m only human.

The statement “I’m only human” is something I’ve heard quite a lot. It implies that we shouldn’t have so much pressure placed upon us. It’s an excuse, or reason, why we sometimes fail to achieve the vast amount of goals we set ourselves. I admit that seems a defeatist, negative, pointless statement, but yet I still use it. I don’t know about you, but for me it’s actually a refreshing reminder that it’s okay to fail sometimes.

I started this blog post about writing and it somehow turned into yet another random contemplation about life. I guess I’ve been feeling rather reflective lately and to tell you the truth I really don’t know why. However, I think I better stop typing this post and start writing some revision cards unless I want to completely fail my exams.

What do you think about the statement “I’m only human”? Let me know in the comments.

Until next time keep dreaming x

5 thoughts on “I’m only human

  1. I really like your thinking! We should always remind ourselves that we’re not supernatural or anything! That’s so important because otherways there’s really too much pressure… Nice post 👍🏼
    And good luck for your exams 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I could relate to the post very well.. The problem with me is I never reach that phase when I look into the mirror and go like “You’re only human”. For me it goes from “I’m going to take over the whole world” to “What the hell is wrong with me? Why haven’t I been able to take over the whole world yet?” (I’m not the most calm and sorted person you’ll meet) But seriously, great post! Very well written..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

