Uncategorized

Swifties uniting in Hyde Park

So this weekend was pretty crazy and I still have to pinch myself to believe it actually happened.

IMG_5671

Just in case you didn’t know, I am most definitely a Swiftie. It was probably the first fandom I ever joined before I even knew about the word ‘fandom’ and what it meant. When I was 10, and still in primary school, I heard Taylor’s song ‘our song’ and then became completely obsessed with her music.

At Christmas, I was fortunate enough to receive tickets for the British Summertime Hyde Park concert and let’s just say I was rather excited. For years, nine to be exact, me and my sister have wanted to see Taylor Swift perform live. So when she came onto the stage I don’t think I really knew how to react. Just kidding, I screamed like a crazy person, held back tears, and then proceeded to click record on my phone so I could look back and remember this amazing experience. That is how you behave at concerts, right?

I was already overwhelmed by her performance when she surprised us by inviting her friends onto the stage. These friends included Cara Delevingne, Karlie Kloss, Gigi Hadid, Kendall Jenner, Serena Williams and Martha Hunt. This epic surprise was almost too much to handle and I think my sister would agree that I was very over excited (the excessive screaming, OMG’s and hand flapping sort of gave it away).

Reflecting back on what was an incredible day, I can conclude that all those years I waited to see her perform were more than worth it. Throughout the concert, whether it be her little inspirational speeches or the sheer effort she put into every song, I felt, as I’m sure everyone else did, that she truly appreciated us her fans.

It would be accurate to say that I came away from the concert feeling ecstatic. Taylor Swift’s staging, sparkly costumes and overall performance couldn’t be faulted. I danced, sang and took plenty of photos/videos as a lasting reminder of a what will always be a memorable day.

Just in case Taylor Swift ever does see this (I know she probably won’t), I would just like to say thank you for many things. Thank you for creating such great music, for appreciating your fans and for the advice that you gave at the concert.

IMG_5681     IMG_5722IMG_5691

So, after everything I’ve included in this blog post, I thought it would be appropriate to end it with some wise words from Taylor Swift herself. 🙂

“You are your own definition of beautiful and worthwhile and no one else’s definition.”

Until next time keep dreaming and…

…following Taylor Swift’s advice x

5 thoughts on “Swifties uniting in Hyde Park

Leave a Reply

