Creative writing

Writing update: first drafts, character changes and plans

I find it kind of funny that I started a blog because I’m an aspiring author yet I have never published a writing updates post. Even though my writing tends to be an ever present part of my life, it never occurred to me to write a post like this. If you enjoy reading these types of posts then let me know in the comments for future reference.

In my blog post ‘Summer starts now’, I stated that I was more ready than ever to blog, which I am, but life has also been more busy than expected. I have been lucky enough to attend things such as the British summertime Hyde park concert. Plus, any other spare time at home has been a mix of completing my first draft and Netflix, but mostly writing. That’s why I thought that I might as well combine my novel writing and blogging to create this post.

Now for the actual writing update.

Let’s just say my writing was going really well a few weeks ago because I finally reached over 55,000 words yay! After that it all went kind of downhill, which I will explain further.

I started my novel when I was 16 and was just about to finish the first draft. I know that sounds like a project that isn’t going anywhere but I also wasn’t entirely dedicated to it last year as I am now. My story became something I dreamed of finishing but I would only work on it every now and then. Due to the fact that I didn’t write it consistently, I have started to find many flaws that have led to my latest creative decision…re-writing my draft before it’s fully finished. My mum thought it was a crazy idea too but I have my reasons.

My writing has progressed a great deal over the past few years and this has led to many character and plot changes along the way. My story has grown into something much more intelligible than it was before and that’s why I want to start a fresh. I’m still referring back to my [mostly] finished first draft and I feel like this is the best decision for me at the moment. 

Appart from a few new book ideas and an improved plan, that is basically all that I have to update you on. I would love to know in the comments how you deal with the writing process. Do you struggle with the daunting nature of first drafts too? 

Until next time keep dreaming x

5 thoughts on “Writing update: first drafts, character changes and plans

    1. At least I know I’m not alone πŸ™‚ In the future I’m going to try to plan a lot more beforehand and hopefully that will allow me to write and then edit later too.

      Like

  1. I am always very impressed when I read posts about writing! I would like to write, but I think I just donΒ΄t have the talent for it, I donΒ΄t have any ideas or the patience for it xD
    But I am always very interested in such posts and love to read about the progress of stories. I wish you good luck with finishing yours and would love to read more about it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I have always loved creating stories but when I started this much bigger project I was worried that my writing wouldn’t be good enough too. The key thing is to just believe in the story you’re trying to tell and hopefully a few drafts later it will turn into something worth reading haha x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

