Uncategorized

When I grow up I want to be…

The majority of people reading this have aspired to be many things as a child, and I am no exception. It would seem that my dreams weren’t always so clear back then as they are now. So, just in case you were wondering, here is a list of job roles, the ones which I can remember, that I once dreamed of having.

Let’s start from the very beginning…the toddler years. When I was much younger, I presume I wanted to be a princess or a fairy *cue gender stereotypes*

After that my dream jobs became much more random. Although before I begin, I can confirm that I was probably one of the very few little girls who didn’t dream of becoming a vet.

Now I couldn’t write a list like this without starting by saying…When I grow up I want to be…

A dinner-lady

I nearly chose not to include this but I distinctly remember telling my mum that I wanted to be a dinner-lady when I was younger. I don’t think it was the job itself but the people (dinner ladies) who I’d had the pleasure of meeting in primary school. They were friendly and I guess I just wanted to help people the way that they did.

A lawyer

I was too young to understand all of what the job entailed but old enough to know that society deemed it to be a successful career. Back then, me and my best friend both decided that we were going to be lawyers, because it was a time when grades weren’t considered, and anything was possible.

A professional tennis player

A few games of swing-ball and I declared that this was the job for me, even though I’d never, and still haven’t, played a game of tennis in my life. However. I would like to proudly reveal that I’m not that bad at playing table tennis and have actually managed to watch, and vaguely understand, some of the Wimbledon matches that I’ve seen on the TV lately.

A professional runner 

I wasn’t amazing at running when I was younger but I was much better than I am now. Although my interest in the sport became much more obsessive when I watched Kelly Holmes win 2 gold medals in the Olympics. After that she became something of an idol to me and I decided that I wanted to be just like her. This all fizzled out when I completed a junior run (only a couple of miles), and ended up in pain and bright red in the face.

A professional singer 

I was in school choirs throughout most of my time at school, but this dream was exclusive to my primary school years. It all started in year 5 when I entered my school talent competition singing ‘I wish I was a punk rocker’. After being encouraged and told I actually could sing, the following year I went on to play the narrator in the ‘Joseph and the amazing technicolour dreamcoat’ and entered the talent competition again, this time singing two songs including: part of your world – The little mermaid and I learned from you – Miley Cyrus and Billy Ray Cyrus. I was determined to enter the X factor when I was old enough but then I realised that I actually didn’t have the confidence to sing in front of a much larger crowd. I did continue singing in my schools choir in secondary school and got singing lessons, which enabled me to achieve my grade 1 and grade 3. However, by that point, it wasn’t something I dreamed of doing as a career anymore.

A cupcake shop owner

I’ve always stated the fact that I can bake but can’t cook, but I’ve never revealed that my cupcakes are actually really delicious (even if I say so myself). This seemed like the perfect cute job until I realised I hate the smell of cake shops and I’d probably be left never wanting to eat a cupcake again. I instead settled on the idea that this would be a really great post retirement job (if that even makes any sense).

A journalist

At the time I wanted to have my writing published regardless if it was non-fiction newspaper articles instead of fiction novels. However, I realised, with help from my sister, that a successful journalist is passionate about what they are writing about, something which I wouldn’t have been.

A psychologist 

This was fairly recent when I was choosing a university course. Ultimately I went with my heart and chose something which would help my writing advance and further my chances of achieving my dream. However, there was a moment where I considered the prospects of becoming a psychologist, because it offered me job security, something which an aspiring author can’t be guaranteed.

Now that I’m older I would like to be…

A writer, published author, a creator of stories that change people’s lives or make a bad day seem okay. Something which allows me to have creative freedom. To create worlds different from our own when reality is just a little too serious or overbearing.

What did you aspire to be as a child? Let me know in the comments and…

…until next time keep dreaming x

2 thoughts on “When I grow up I want to be…

  1. I wanted to be a tow truck driver who only towed blue cars when I was five. Now I want to be a writer if i don’t get published or make money from it I still have the passion and will keep writing in my free time. I think some day I will get published. 607 stories now close to a 1000. I am sure by the time I reach 1000 I will have improved my writing more and move closer to my dream.

    Like

  2. It’s funny how we all aspire to be such random things when we’re younger. I’m just trying to finish my first story at the moment haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

