Uncategorized

University coming soon…

Two days ago I opened my exam results and found out that I’d been accepted into my firm choice university. After getting over the initial shock, writing a few Facebook posts and drinking a few celebratory cocktails,it all started to properly sink in. As of September I will officially be a university student, who will be studying for a degree, with people I am yet to meet. Can you vicariously feel my nerves haha?

The truth is, I’ve spent the past two years studying for A-levels and the last seven years surrounded by the same friends. My school/sixth form has become so familiar that the thought of suddenly leaving is quite a daunting prospect. However, as daunting as it may be, I also feel like I’m ready to move on to this next chapter in my life.

I’m excited to meet new people and to get involved in all aspects of university life. I’m looking forward to starting my degree, and the fact that I’ll be surrounded by people who all share the same love of writing. Even thoughΒ I have experienced quite a bit of self-doubt recently, I’m going to overcome it, or at least try to, in order to make the most of the next few years. You see, no matter how unsure I am about this change in my life, I’ve come to realise that there are just as many reasons, probably more, to look forward to it than there are to be nervous about it.

To all of my fellow bloggers and the people who have taken their time to read this, I would like to say thank you. The end of this month will mark a year since I wrote my first introductory post. Over the past 12 months you have all helped my confidence grow a great deal. Without your positive feedback, I may never have decided to pursue my dream career path and university course.

Lastly, to my current, loyal and undeniably great group of friends, I would like to write a brief message. Thank you for making school and the dreaded A-levels bearable. I’m so incredibly proud of all us for striving and achieving the things that we have worked so hard for. I hope that this next chapter in our lives will be everything we want it to be and more.Β So until September let’s make the most of what is practically a ‘do-over’ summer and…

IMG_3634Β IMG_5253 (2)

…until next time keep dreaming x

5 thoughts on “University coming soon…

  1. Glad you had a good summer Melis. Good luck with University I know you will do great and before you know it you will have reached your dream. Time moves fast so sit back buckle your seatbelt and enjoy the ride!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations, that’s amazing!! Are you going into a program for writing? I’m going into my last year of highschool this year so in a short 12 months I’ll be in the same boat you’re in… I’m looking forward to reading about your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Part of my degree does involve producing pieces of creative writing which I am very excited about. Good look with your last year of highschool πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

