Creative writing

Writing update: self-doubt

I just thought I’d start by saying that where this post lacks in editing, it makes up for in honesty.

Now let’s get on with a rather blunt writing update…enjoy :p

Lately I’ve been really doubting myself about everything I’ve written and everything I will write in the future. This has also made me realise that there are two dilemmas which all writers probably think about as well.

a) Nobody wanting to read your writing.

b) People reading and hating what you’ve spent hours carefully crafting.

I am fully aware of these awful dilemmas, as my mind, which tends to over think way too often, has led to both of these conclusions too many times.I would love to say to all of you that I have figured out a way to not think about it, but that would be downright lying, and I don’t feel like pretending to be something I’m not.

Instead of ignoring the fact that these dilemmas, whilst completely terrifying, are an ever-present possibility, I’ve decided to take a different approach. This approach could be appropriately referred to as “just get on with it”. As the title blatantly suggests, I’ve decided to just write whatever and whenever I can. (I’ll let you know later if it actually works haha)

If I don’t like what I’ve written, I ignore it and continue on anyway. I type without thinking, trusting the fact that for now, whatever I am choosing to write, is being unleashed onto my laptop screen for a reason. It may be a far from perfect draft, something which is not good enough for the shelves of my favourite bookshops, but it’s worth so much more to me in that moment. So whether it’s a story read by lots of people or just close family and friends, I’m not going to give up on it just yet.

If you’re a writer like me who is suffering from the dreaded ‘self-doubt’, let me know in the comments how you deal with it.

Until next time keep dreaming x

One thought on “Writing update: self-doubt

  1. Hey Melis I am also a writer who has kind of been suffering the same way. I’ve started to think the people that supported my writing before don’t like it anymore. I think the people that has always been loyal to supporting my writing don’t care anymore and are not reading anymore. But I know even if I just have like ten people reading and supporting my writing that is enough for me. It helps me push through it just was starting to feel like the magic was slipping away when you write 700 short stories in 2 years you are bound to have periods where you need a break or have self doubt. Writing is my life and what makes me happy. I got a couple of friends I write for that enjoy my writing and that feels good. My approach is writing is meant to be fun and its fun for me so I will keep having fun and not worry who reads my stories or who likes them or if they are good enough. I’ll enjoy the writing I am doing and use it to help myself feel better. Your writing is great Melis just keep writing and don’t think about it embrace your craft and passion. What helps me is I usually don’t have time to think about who likes the stories or not because I am always working on a new story the next day or multiple stories. I just keep moving forward and don’t look back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

