quote of the week · Random comtemplations

Learning to embrace change

Everyone seems to say that ‘uni is the best time of your life’, which as an over-thinker, seems like an intimidating high expectation to have.

As my summer draws to a close, I have found myself feeling really nostalgic about my school/college years, which has led to me being far from excited about waving goodbye to it all. In just over a week, I will officially start university, make new friends and learn to adapt to a new environment. My current friends, who have shaped the person I am now, will also be going in a different direction, working towards their own future careers.This sudden realisation is an extremely daunting prospect to say the least.

If someone asked me – Do you think you’re ready for this change? My answer would automatically be no.

I’ve always hated change. I hate the way the inevitability of it makes me feel powerless. I hate the way it makes me feel anxious and worried. It seems that just when I start to get comfortable, just when my confidence is growing that little bit more, everything has to change once again. However, it would be foolish of me to completely believe that the answer ‘no’ is accurate. Just as it would be wrong of me to say that change is always a bad thing, because it definitely isn’t.

I started this post because I felt like venting my feelings, even if I decided that it wasn’t something I’d eventually publish on here. However, writing about change has made me realise that I need to stop being so fearful of it. If I continue to have such a strong dislike for it, then every big milestone in my life will be accompanied with feelings of dread, instead of excitement. I recently wrote my ‘writing nostalgia’ post, which refers to the therapeutic qualities that I associate with writing, and this is a perfect example. Sometimes, seeing our own thoughts written down, can be the key to understanding them.

It’s late at night and I could continue typing, but then this post will lose the sentiment I seem to have created. The acceptance of life changing for the better, in order to appreciate the future, instead of clinging on to the past.

So, instead of unleashing more of my thoughts, I would like to leave you with this quote.

“Sometimes change can be scary, but a life with no change at all is terrifying”

Until next time keep dreaming x

2 thoughts on “Learning to embrace change

  1. Hi,

    I’ve read your worries about going to uni. Don’t be, I went to uni too and honestly it was the best time of my life. The place to be to dream, inspire others and meeting like-minded people. When I first came in to the building I felt for the very first time in my life: I belong here. And my feeling was right. So I wish you crazy adventures, lots of late midnight snacks and all the wisdom you’re graving for.

    PS: love your blog, keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

