Uncategorized

A letter to the unknown

I really like the idea of today’s prompt and all of the different ways it can be interpreted. A few months ago, I published a post which was a letter to my younger self, so I thought that today I would write something a little more out of the ordinary.

Here is the link to my – #DearMe – a letter to my younger self 

The title of this post is rather ambiguous, so just in case you haven’t figured it out, which is highly likely, I’ve decided to write a letter to the places I am yet to visit and the people I am yet to meet.

Dear the unknown,

I don’t know when we’ll meet or why, but I think the ‘Who, what ,where, when and why’s’ are always superficial and overrated anyway. I’m much more of a believer in ‘everything happening for a reason’, even if it is the universe, instead of me, that knows the reason why. After all, coincidence makes for a better story later, which for a writer like me, can only be a good thing. 

So, technicalities aside, I am much more excited about the effect meeting you will have on my life. I’m eager for you to teach me things I am yet to learn, whether that be about culture, the world, or even myself. Maybe that makes me selfish,  for hoping that you will enrich my life somehow, but I guess I’m only human after all. Don’t you ever wish for the same thing? To experience more and learn new things in order to appreciate the vast, and sometimes all-encompassing, world that we live in.

So, whether it be a coincidence or something that is planned, I hope that I will be warm, welcoming and open-minded. I look forward to our meeting someday, even if it’s not anytime soon.

***

I hope you enjoyed reading that rather unusual letter. It’s quite different to what I usually post but it was a refreshing change.

Until next time keep dreaming x

2 thoughts on “A letter to the unknown

  1. It’s kinda scary that we can’t see what’s coming for us… I wrote a similar letter to my future self, because I’ve been feeling pretty intrigued/worried (at the same time!) about the future recently. But I think it’s always better to embrace the unknown and welcome it in… after all, we can’t stop or control time, so we may as well just accept what it brings!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly, I was going to write a letter to my future self but I just decided to tweak that idea slightly. The future is scary but there’s no point worrying about the inevitable changes in our lives πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

