Uncategorized

Journals, notebooks and a guide to happiness…

There are two types of people in this world: those who love buying notebooks/journals etc and those who judge people for buying them. I’m most definitely the first type, hence the reason for this entire post. 

Let’s begin with the humble journal, something which I believe is useful for everyone, especially a writer.

I always loved the idea of sitting on a window seat, gazing outside at the lovely scenery and neatly writing in a vintage leather bound book. Despite this entire fantasy not becoming true, I have still found the act of keeping a journal to be really worthwhile. However, it was only when I received this maroon one for my 16th birthday that I started to consistently record daily memories and reap the rewards of this writing pastime.

  

Before I knew it a year had gone by and I’d filled the pages with memories from my last year of school, train tickets from places i’d visited and photos of my prom. When my 17th birthday came around I was so pleased to receive another journal, this time in a lovely green.

  

I’ve had it for nearly two years now and although it is only halfway full, it has an abundance of sentimental value within its good quality paper pages. 

  

Since I’ve now mentioned the basic journal, I thought it would also be useful to include my sleep one, purchased from Waterstones.

  

Just in case you’ve never came across a sleep journal like this one, it’s something which is supposed to prevent you from turning into an insomniac. Every time I can’t sleep, I write what I am thinking, or most likely worrying about, and this is supposed to relieve my mind and help me get some much needed sleep. After using it for a few months I do believe it works, and its cute exterior and pocket size style makes it that much better.

Now I think it’s time I addressed my notebook addiction, which is getting out of hand. 

I know that I’m not the only person that buys notebooks frequently, even though I don’t really need them. It has become something of a habit for me to own the notebook for years before actually writing in it, something which I am not exactly proud of. This is the case for the two notebooks below, one which was a gift given to me a while ago and the other one which I bought just last month.

   

  

Finally my guide to happiness, albeit it not being an empty notebook or journal, was too cute to leave out of this post. If you have an appreciation for cute notebook and advice guides them this will be the perfect pocket sized addition to your life. I purchased my copy from Urban Outfitters in London. 🙂

 

I hope you enjoyed this slightly different post idea.

I would love to know what you think about notebooks and keeping a journal. Let me know in the comments.

Until next time keep dreaming x

12 thoughts on “Journals, notebooks and a guide to happiness…

  1. Notebooks and journals are awesome. I used to use them a lot until people in my family made a habit of finding them all the time and reading them. I may buy a notebook and journal at the library its a peaceful place to write and think. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Good places I could put mine under a mattress or hide behind some magazines in my cabinet. Your welcome. There is a nice store Arts and Crafts place that sells pretty nice notebooks I’ll pick one up there! It will help me get out more and the library is a good place to go!

        Like

  2. I’m the type of person who loves buying notebooks and then, I go home and just stare at the notebooks I buy and think, “What will be the use of this?”, haha! But at the end of the day, I always come up with answers on how I will use them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Notebooks definitely are awesome! I even wrote a post dedicated to promoting the use of them and some ways you can here https://forwardjourneyblog.wordpress.com/2015/10/13/the-value-of-a-notebook/ 😛 You seem to have a pretty good grasp on that concept already with how many notebooks you have lol Although, I would say there’s a third type of person as far as notebooks go: the “buy and never use” variety. I’ve seen people with notebooks absolutely everywhere. In their room, on their desk, nightstand, bathroom (yup), floor, bookshelf, and on and on. Yet when I ask them “oh what do you use all these notebooks for?” and they respond with “nothing 😥 ” haha

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have maintained the diary culture myself. I also have a variety of notebooks for different purposes… Saw your site from the community pool and I decided to check it out. You’ve got an amazing blog going here. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Keeping a diary is a very rewarding thing I believe. The writing aspect is not only therapeutic but it also allows us to record important moments in our lives 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

