Creative writing · Uncategorized

Write first. Think second.

This post is last minute, spontaneous, and exactly what you would expect from the title…I hope.

I started appreciating writing, mainly fiction, at the age of 16, but that doesn’t mean that it’s all I focus on. To tell you the truth, I find that my urge to write often dwindles throughout the year. I start with goals in mind, and then, as life gets in the way, I succumb to distraction, as my mind gets weighed down by greater priorities.

So, when I started university, as many of you already know, I found that my writing projects became a virtually non-existent part of my life. I didn’t want to force writing and grow to hate something I had grown so fond of. Yet I didn’t want to be an aspiring author, who rarely wrote, and was inadvertently in denial.

So, how did I fix this problem? The truth is I didn’t, well not really.

I’m studying an English with creative writing degree, which is an obvious choice for a person with the same career aspirations as myself. Unfortunately, this ‘obvious choice’ was seeming like a rather bleak one a few weeks ago, until realisation suddenly dawned on me…

I am privileged enough to spend two hours a week in a creative practice workshop, which lets me home my craft, and write freely to some degree. I shouldn’t be questioning it, I should be embracing it.

Now, I admit,it’s not all rainbows and sunshine, but it has been farely useful. I’ve learnt to write without thinking and edit later. I’ve became aware of the vast array of styles that accompany the written form, and I now appreciate art, the visual type, as you may know from my last post.

Finally, I don’t feel the need to rush my writing, to complete draft after draft without a real outline or plan. I want to continue to write freely, edit when I’m ready and let small moments in my life inspire me. So, I’m not asking for much really.

I didn’t write this with a plan in mind and I finally feel like that’s okay. I guess you could say that I relied upon the jumble of thoughts in my head to make sense, and it feels oddly empowering. Maybe I succeeded and maybe I didn’t, but I don’t think that is what matters. Write your random thoughts down, appreciate that art is forever surrounding us, and trust that as a writer you can make the text on the page worth a whole lot more than a random collection of words.

Until next time keep dreaming x

10 thoughts on “Write first. Think second.

Leave a Reply

