Random comtemplations · Uncategorized

Lets make this year worthwhile…

For some reason I’ve been struggling to complete blog posts lately. This isn’t because I don’t have any ideas, or due to the fact that I don’t want to blog anymore, it’s simply my inability to form coherent sentences worth reading. As you can imagine, this has been making me rather frustrated, but I’m trying to not let it bother me too much.

The truth is, I’ve decided to turn 2016 into a year that I will look back upon with fond memories. So, instead of spending endless amounts of time watching TV I don’t care about, or considering the ‘what ifs’ that so many of us overthink, I’m determined to fill my time with something worthwhile. When I’m not blogging, or considering writing posts, I’m reading. When I’m not writing, I’m researching publishing, seeking out work experience that can only benefit me in the future. I want to be able to end the day with a content frame of mind, having spent my time wisely, and not taken it for granted.

Of course this plan won’t always be possible, since I’m not, and have never claimed to be a perfect human. I’ll have days where I’ll watch movies, instead of completing uni assignments. There will be times when the weather is too dull, and my mood is so low, that I’ll complain about everything and evidently not want to do anything at all. But those days will end, and I’ll get a fresh start in the form of a brand new one.

As I type this post, the sky is dark outside, signalling that it is indeed night, and another day has ended. It doesn’t matter that it’s no longer December 31st, the eve of a brand new year. To me, it’s just another tomorrow, yesterday, has been, could’ve been, day. They’re all brand new, and whether it be January 1st, or the middle of 2016, doesn’t really matter. After all, having one bad day doesn’t mean that the next one will be the same, if anything, it can only get better.

***

I have this theory that humans are a lot like the Earth itself. No matter the day, the Earth will spin, be exposed by the light and consumed by the dark.We all experience darkness sometimes, and even when the sadness consumes us, we manage to keep moving, keep striving towards something we failed to achieve the first time. It may be only a moment, or what seems like an eternity, but eventually everything will become clear again. The planet we live on enables us to physically survive, but the ability to overcome the bad days, and to keep moving forward, is the reason our mind does too.

This is the year that I seek out the light, and stop letting my worries, and the unpredictability of life scare me. It’s the year that I stop being afraid to take a chance, try something new, strive towards dreams that sometimes seem like an impossibility. It’s the year that I learn more than a school book, or a TV screen, could ever teach me.

What are you planning to achieve in 2016? Let me know in the comments.

Until next time keep dreaming x

4 thoughts on “Lets make this year worthwhile…

  1. I absolutely LOVE your theory! YES! We’re all spinning back towards the light. πŸ™‚

    This year I’m really working at making myself a priority and making smaller, more manageable and reasonable goals. So far it seems to be working out pretty well. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think having smaller goals is a great idea because bigger ones can often seem too daunting. Glad to hear 2016 is going well for you so far πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. We can only be as much as the sum of our dreams allow us to be! Keep thinking big, and acting small, and those steps will add up πŸ™‚ Not to belabour the metaphor, but eventually those small steps do lead you to a landing where the bigger picture ideas suddenly don’t loom over you so.

    2016 just happens to be one of those “landing” years for me, and this summer will see me let out a breath I’ve been holding for a long time!

    Great post, and stay g33ky!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

