books · Uncategorized

YouTubers writing books…

The title, although having quite a literal meaning, doesn’t reflect the frustration I feel about this topic. So, although this is something I’ve been suppressing the urge to write about for a while, I can’t ignore it any longer. Why does it seem like all YouTubers are getting a book deal?

You’re all probably aware that I’m an aspiring author, who spends a large amount of my time writing, and researching the publishing industry. It’s a career that I’ve dreamed of having for years and it’s something I understand requires a lot of hard work and dedication. However, when I see that another YouTuber, who never showed any interest in being an author, is suddenly being afforded the privilege of a book deal, it’s difficult not to feel jealous, and rather annoyed. Especially if some under-appreciated ghostwriter is doing all of the hard work.

Before I continue, I would like to say that I am subscribed to lots of these YouTubers and have watched their videos for quite some time. I also don’t want to detract from their success because they’ve probably worked hard in other aspects to gain that. However, I don’t agree with the fact that book publishing seems trivial to them now, almost like a right of passage they’re all entitled to.

As you can imagine, it’s a topic that I could discuss in much more depth, but it’s probably best that I don’t express my views further. I know that some people may disagree with the opinions included in this post and that is completely fine. However, I’m also hoping that this doesn’t cause an extensive debate to occur in the comments either. This is just a topic, which for an aspiring author such as myself, can often seen rather disheartening and I hope you all understand that.

Until next time keep dreaming x

12 thoughts on “YouTubers writing books…

  1. I agree with you in some ways. But the point is that they are already very famous and obviously, I don’t know about the whole process of how a book is published but they get offers and they just accept them because they are already so admired and thus, people would love to read their books. It’s very unfair to aspiring authors but it’s not their fault either.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely understand that and it’s something I have previously considered because I would willingly take the opportunity too. I just wish that some of them wouldn’t hide the fact that a ghostwriter actually wrote the book πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I totally understand where you’re coming from. Getting your story published, especially when you don’t have a large following, is extremely difficult.
    However, I do think that YouTubers’ books are to be regarded differently to authors’ books. I don’t mean to sound belittling towards their work, as I am 100% sure that each and every one of them has worked extremely hard to write, or design, or work on their book. However these books aren’t pieces of literature. They are marketing products tied to successful individuals’ image; their purpose is to entertain and to expand into a new market. It’s important to realise that the YouTubers you talk about have a massive (pre-)teen following. This happens to be the age range that is most likely to have idols they will follow to the moon. Launching a book is a very lucrative process indeed for someone with a teenage fanbase.
    I wouldn’t say that the popularity of such books is bad news for aspiring authors out there, though: they are just a different kind of books. A different genre almost. As soon as you recognise that, you’ll see that there isn’t much to be worried about… in my opinion.

    Marianne x
    http://thestoriesiknow.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand that their book deals are a result of their large following, and that their viewers idolisation of them leads to greater sales. However, some YouTubers such as Zoella who had ‘Girl Online’ ghostwritten’, are actually compared to actual authors, even people such as Jk Rowling who’s book sales record she’d broken. So, although her sales record was also due to her teenage fanbase, it was nevertheless compared to authors who had wrote their own book. Overall, I don’t think it is ‘bad news’ for aspiring authors, but I do think it is an unfair reality that someone who doesn’t even enjoy reading, never mind writing, is being allowed to publish something.

      I hope I was able to articulate this comment correctly, as it’s purpose wasn’t to disagree with you. I understand that YouTuber’s books generate a lot of money which can be helpful for the publishing industry.

      Melis x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are free to disagree with me! That’s what makes it interesting πŸ˜‰
        But yes, I too find it annoying that someone with a ghostwriter is getting that much publicity and recognition… But that spurs a new discussion (and a very interesting one): the idea of deserving to be published.
        What makes one author’s story more deserving of being published than another’s? Isn’t publishing still a quite unfair and competitive world where a story’s fate is determined by who reads it and when and how and all sorts of circumstances that the author has no control over? In that case, do the authors that ‘deserve’ to be published ever are? How about those for whom writing comes easily and naturally – their work is still good, but they didn’t need to work as hard as others to make it so. Are they deserving?

        All of these questions are somewhat rhetorical as I don’t have any answers and don’t really expect anyone else to, either. But I really appreciate your point of view on this, as it is something I am still trying to make up my mind about. Hope you don’t mind my blabbering on!

        Marianne x
        http://thestoriesiknow.com/

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally agree what you wrote. In fact, lately I found myself carefully assessing the same pattern in the society. Almost every famous person ends up becoming a writer. This is sad because they’re neither professional nor practiced in this art and neither, like you very well pointed out, are they very keen for writing.

    The only reason for us aspiring writers to envy them is that we pry for an opportunity to leap up so we can grab it. While they on the other hand don’t really have to try that hard, do they?

    Very good piece.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much! I’m so happy that you understood what I meant. I believe it is the dedication to writing that is a fundamental part of publishing a book, so at the very least I think they should try to show more enthusiasm for the art form that is making them so much money. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally agree with everything you wrote here, Melis! As a writer trying to make it the old fashioned way, it feels incredibly unfair to see YouTube celebs being given book deals with ghost writers. From a business perspective, it makes complete sense to me, and I get it. I couldn’t deny that I would probably do the same if I were some YouTube teen idol looking to capitalize on my brand. But, that being said, on the basis of merit it is incredibly frustrating to see people bypass all of the hoops the rest of us have to jump through — polishing a manuscript, finding beta readers, landing an agent, getting a publishing deal, etc.

    Thank you for posting this!

    Charlotte
    http://girlygeekgirl.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Your comment just perfectly summed up how I feel. It seems that the only people who understand the difficulty of writing are the writers themselves πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

