Uncategorized

It’s Valentine’s Day and I’m single.

This is a post for all of my fellow single people out there who are forced to face this day alone. It’s for all of the Gretchen Wiener’s who scroll through their Facebook timeline only to see that all of the Glen Coco’s of the world have received way more candy canes than they probably need. Don’t think about those people, think about yourself and face the day like Han himself…solo.

Now, humour aside, you really don’t need to feel upset on a day like today and I’m going to tell you why.

In all honesty, Valentine’s day has never really bothered me that much because it just never seemed very important. I’ve always had the mindset that if I could survive all year independently then I could survive a single day. The key phrase in that overly inspirational statement is “single day”. Yes, that’s right, it’s only 24 hours and I don’t know about you, but I don’t need the calendar on my phone or another person to control how I spend it.

Like so many others, I’ve always loved watching romantic comedies and dreamt about the day that someone would sweep me off my feet. However, just because this is yet to happen doesn’t mean that I cry every time I don’t receive a card on February 14th . Just in case you didn’t realise, another person, and the gifts that you receive, do not prove your worth.

So, you know what I’m not going to do today, eat a single pringle for breakfast or throw chocolate at the TV as I watch another fictional romance come to life. I’m not going to wallow in self pity or complain about how everyone elses life is so much better. Instead, I’m going to face the day just like any other and try to do something worthwhile.

***

This post was partly inspired by a YouTube video I watched last year by Natasha Polis aka Tashapolis. It was titled “Fangirls guide to Valentine’s day” and I remember that it made me laugh a lot. Her funny approach to being single on such a day was great and I highly recommend that you check out her channel. 🙂

 

Although my post applies to everyone, not just fangirls, I still hope I was able to make you laugh, relate or at the very least feel better. Just because we’re single doesn’t mean we have to throw pity parties and be anti-valentines day advocates. Instead of thinking about what you don’t have, learn to embrace and appreciate your life for what it is. It may sound cliche but I truly believe in true love and the fact that there is someone out there for everyone.

Until next time keep dreaming x

2 thoughts on “It’s Valentine’s Day and I’m single.

  1. I was in a relationship until 10am on Valentine’s Day, when my boyfriend of a year and a half stormed out and left me. Needless to say, my day sucked pretty badly! I usually wouldn’t mind being single on V-day, but who does that?!?! 😦

    Like

    1. I’m so sorry to hear about that. I think my post would have been quite different if that had happened to me. I hope the rest of February is a lot better for you. x

      Like

Leave a Reply

