books · oftomes publishing · Uncategorized

Lets talk Booktube

Booktuber (definition)

‘Someone on YouTube that makes videos related to books.’

I’ve been watching and subscribing to many YouTube channels over the years, all of which are quite different. However, it would seem that Booktube, albeit it recently becoming more popular, is just the perfect thing for me. I am, and have always been an English subject kind of girl, who aspires to write professionally. Yet, despite loving the idea of reading, it became something I didn’t have time for. That was until I started watching Booktube and fell in love with books all over again.

Just in case you are a book lover who hasn’t heard of Booktube, here are just a few types of videos you will adore.

  • Book recommendations
  • Book hauls
  • Book tags
  • Meeting authors vlogs
  • Book events vlogs
  • Book-to-movie adaptation videos

My favourite Booktuber’s include:

  • Sasha Alsberg
  • Natasha Polis
  • Christine Riccio
  • Benjamin Alderson

If you haven’t already, you should definitely check out their channels! Here is a little description of each…

1. Sasha Alsberg is a lover of Scotland and Outlander. She has recently started a second vlog channel which I also enjoy watching.

Booktube channel – abookutopia

Second channel –Sasha Alsberg

______________________________

2. Natasha Polis is a professional fangirl, who not only created the epic tagline ‘Keep calm and fangirl on’, but also the ‘Fantropolis’ website 

Booktube/ Fangirl channel – Tashapolis

______________________________

3. Christine Riccio was the first Booktuber I ever watched and the reason I continued to watch book related YouTube videos. Her entertaining lip syncs, which always introduce me to songs I will later play on repeat, are posted on her other YouTube channel PolandbananasXX

Booktube channel –polandbananasBOOKS

Other channel – polandbananas20

______________________________

4.. Benjamin Alderson is not only a successful booktuber, but also the founder of the micro publishing house ‘Oftomes’.

Booktube channel – Benjaminoftomes

I have recently became a member of the #Oftomes street team and my blog posts will be linked below.

Book review – Gabriel and the Swallows

Cover reveal – Gabriel and the Swallows

Oftomes publishing announcement

Oftomes publishing announcement…cover release

***

This blog post may only be brief, but if you’re a book lover like me, then I recommend you check out some Booktube. The BookTubers listed above are just a few of the lovely people who are part of this community.

So, yes my ‘TBB’ (to-be-bought) list may be greater than my ‘TBR’ (to-be-read) list but it’s all a work in progress. I want to be a better writer and in order to do that I know I need to become a more active reader. Then maybe, with a bit of luck and a lot of hard work, my book could be something that the Booktube community choose to review in the future.

Until next time keep dreaming x

Leave a Reply

