Travel · Uncategorized

My Oxford Adventure

Towards the end of February, I packed my suitcase and got on the train feeling excited about having a change in scenery. The thought of spending a weekend in Oxford, which is a wonderful city in the South of England, was enough to take my mind of the cold and rather dull winter weather.

Oxford is a city full of history, where Harry Potter references seem to reside perfectly, and aspiring writers feel at home. Luckily for me, my older sister, whom now lives there, was more than happy to be my daily tourist guide, and I managed to accomplish quite a lot in my brief visit.

Here is a list of the places that I visited (Photos included)

The Bodleian Library/ The Divinity School

My inner bibliophile was so excited to visit such a prestigious library whom has links to authors such as Mary Shelley. Unfortunately, photography was banned within the library itself, but I did have chance to take pictures of other places on the tour including: the divinity school and Chancellor’s court.

Fact – The Divinity school was used as the infirmary during the filming of the Harry Potter movies.


Pitt Rivers and Oxford University natural history museum

Throughout my visit to Oxford, it became apparent that the university was entwined throughout the city, and this museum was no exception. Both museums display objects and artefacts from the University of Oxford itself.

Carfax tower

The abundance of stairs were well worth the view from the top of the tower. If you ever get chance to visit, then I highly recommend going here to have a wider view of the city.

    

Bridge of Sighs


This popular city attraction joins two parts of Hertford college and the tourist inside of me couldn’t resist getting a picture. It’s across the road from the Sheldonian theatre, which was visible in the film Belle, and probably many other movies.

Radcliffe Camera

This library is probably one of the most photographed buildings in Oxford, which doesn’t particularly surprise me. Not only is it beautiful, but it is also a library used by Oxford university students themselves.

The New Theatre

The night I arrived, me and my sister had tickets to go and see the Russian Ballet perform Swan Lake. It was such a lovely experience and I would most definitely recommend it. Although I don’t have any pictures from the performance, here is one from inside of the theatre itself.

Asides from visiting a few of the university colleges, and shopping, I mainly just enjoyed spending time with my sister. It was lovely to visit somewhere new and learn about all of the amazing history that surrounds this city. Also, as an aspiring author, it was so interesting to find out about famous authors who were inspired to write during their time in Oxford. People such as J.R.R Tolkien and Oscar Wilde attended Oxford university and created some of their most notable works there.

Overall, I had a wonderful time and I can’t wait to go back in the near future. Hopefully, my next visit will be during the summer when the weather is warmer, and the prospect of walking outside is more bearable.

Until next time keep dreaming x

Leave a Reply

