Creative writing

Writing update: music…

Music is something which can distract me whilst writing, yet also inspire me to write. It can even enable me to transfer emotions into written words, something which can often prove particularly difficult. So, since I didn’t have a post planned for today, I thought this might be a refreshing change, and hopefully an interesting read. 

Let’s just say that I currently have 2 separate WIPs (work-in-progresses)

1) A dystopian novel – currently 60,000+ words

2) A contemporary realistic fiction – currently 18,000 words

Whilst continuing to write both of them, I have definitely been replaying the same songs. Whether it be the lyrics that resonate with me, or the fact they don’t distract me entirely, here is a list of the songs that I’ve found particularly inspiring. 

  • We all die trying to get it right – Vance Joy
  • Find my way back – Eric Arjes
  • Medicine – Daughter
  • A little too much – Shawn Mendes
  • Best that I can – Vance Joy

Are you a writer who uses music for inspiration? What do you like to listen to, if anything? Let me know in the comments.

Until next time keep dreaming x

7 thoughts on “Writing update: music…

  1. I really like listening to music whenever I write. Sometimes, I got too distracted about the song [especially my favorite ones] and then I found myself belting “Hello” by Adele. Hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I must admit, that happens to me too sometimes 😂🙈 Although, it does make writing seem more appealing when you’re faced with writers block. I’ve also found that listening to music, whilst simultaneously staring at my work, actually makes me feel less guilty about procrastinating (I’m yet to find out whether that’s a good or bad thing haha)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

