Creative writing · Random comtemplations

Seaside dreaming

Recently, when the weather was being uncharacteristically pleasant, I got on the train and went to the seaside with a friend. It was a lovely day, filled with ice cream, arcade games and a walk along the sea front. So, I guess you could say it was a success.

Seasides, more commonly referred to as beaches, aren’t often the best option when the usual cold and dreary Britsh weather is ever-present. Nevertheless, they are something that we all learn to appreciate, even if only because of the ice cream. That’s why, when I stepped of the train and was met by the sun, I knew it was going to be a good day.

Now, before I go off on a tangent and forget why I started this post, I would like to direct your attention back to the title. It would seem that, as I walked along a fairly empty beach, I was left in state of blissful contemplation, and began dreaming about the possibility of writing in such a place. I imagined writing organically, with a pen in hand and a collection of notebooks to be filled with ideas. It seemed almost cliche, and unrealistic, yet here I was, almost able to achieve such an ideal.

In the past, regardless of the title of my blog, I have wrote about coffee shops not being a haven for me as a writer. They’re crowded, and often filled with people who want to chat absentmindedly with friends, or pre-occupy their time staring at you and your probably unfinished manuscript. I’ve only ever written once in a Starbucks, and it didn’t last long, as the self-conscious part of me just didn’t feel comfortable.

So, what’s more appealing about the seaside, where dogs roam free and children build sand castles wherever and whenever they want. I guess it’s mainly because they’re vast, and you’re able to find your own little patch of sand to sit and write, if you really wanted to of course. If not, just enjoy the view, eat an ice cream, and relax. In all honesty, I’ll probably choose the latter most often.

Whether it be a trip to the seaside, or a park, I guess a writer will always manage to adapt, find new ways, and even new places, to inspire them to tell the story within their head. I’m definitely more willing to write outside of my home now, and if that means dealing with high winds, and sand in my shoes, then so be it.

Where do you enjoy to write? Did you enjoy this different kind of post? Let me know in the comments.

Until next time keep dreaming x

14 thoughts on “Seaside dreaming

  1. I have to have some sort of a view when I’m writing. I can’t just write in a room with no windows or art. It stifles the creative juices! I think I would get too distracted on a beach, though. πŸ˜‰ I’d want to take a dip in the ocean or tan a little!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get distracted quite easily myself, so I always seemed to be most productive when writing in my room. However, I think having a nice view to look at is a great idea! If the sun decides to shine, I don’t mind sun bathing too haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My dyslexia and just terrible handwriting makes writing by hand a bit iffy. I’m not guaranteed the ability to read it when I get back to my computer lol But I think writing by the sea would be absolutely amazing. I would have to go several days in a row to get the overwhelming urge to swim out of my system but it would be just so worth it.
        The pictures in this post are absolutely lovely, btw.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know it’s not for everyone, but I often use my phone to write,the app Werdsmith is particularly good (and free). At least then you could still write, and read your work more efficiently, but not have to risk taking an actual laptop with you. It’s always good to write often, so you could even just use trips to the seaside as opportunities to flex those creative muscles, without any particular writing goal in mind. Thank you, I couldn’t resist capturing the moment, especially when the sky was so blue! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. i don’t know how much more cliche i can get, but i love writing in a coffee shop with a steaming cup of tea, next to the window.

    it’s just perfect to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

