Creative writing

Writing update: Finishing the 1st draft

I’m very excited to announce that I’ve finally finished the first draft of my novel! After years of writing, and then doubting my abilities, I can’t believe that it’s finally done. Now let the editing begin…

Word count (Draft 1) – 69,424

I am expecting this word count to increase in draft 2 for a few reasons. Firstly, there are some new characters I want to introduce, so the plot will have to be re-adjusted slightly. Plus, since this has been a work-in-progress for years, it definitely needs to be re-organised, so that everything flows the way it should. After all of that is complete, and draft 3 begins, I’m hoping to find some beta readers that will highlight further changes that need to be made.

I understand that I’ve been quite secretive in regards to my book, however, I promise I have my reasons. When I came up with the idea at 16, I had already failed to finish another project, yet I remained hopeful that this would be something I’d complete. However, a few years later I decided that the story wasn’t ready to be told and I decided to leave it unfinished. So, I moved on. I started writing something else, a story that was in a completely different genre to this one. Yet, even though I was nearing 20,000 words, the same doubt I had felt started to re-appear. That’s when I decided to move this project to my new laptop, which resulted in me wanting to finish it, and resume the writing process once again.

Since I’m still new to the editing process, I don’t want to set myself too many deadlines. However, my first year of university ended last week and I now have 5 months worth of summer holidays to get to work. I’m determined to make the most of this, and hopefully have draft 3 started by the time my 2nd years begins.

Now before I end this post, I thought it would be fun to reveal a few details about my book.

  • Genre – Dystopian
  • Written from two POV (points of view)
  • It’s a YA (young-adult) novel

In the future, as I edit and refine my work, I hope to share more about it. Hopefully it will be something you can read one day, and enjoy being a part of the world that I’ve created.

Are you a writer? Do you have any editing tips for draft 2? Have you just reached a writing milestone? Please, let me know in the comments.

Until next time keep dreaming x

 

8 thoughts on “Writing update: Finishing the 1st draft

  1. Congratulations on finishing the first draft, Melis! Best of luck for re-drafting and editing, goodness knows it’s a long process but keep at it and well done for even getting to the stage of having a finished story ready to edit. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

