Travel

Experiencing wanderlust…

I’ve experienced wanderlust before. I’ve dreamed about the places I could go and the opportunities that I could make the most of. I’ve also learnt to push it to the back of my mind and think of it as little as possible. The idea of actually travelling to the places I’ve only ever admired on pictures seemed wonderful, yet unfortunately, simultaneously impossible. I used to blame my age, and the fact that I was simply too young, but the age excuse is old, and so is that pun. 

I’m 19 and I don’t start university until October. That’s practically 5 months of time that I could a) spend sleeping or b) make the most of. Unsurprisingly I want to choose the latter, yet exhibit ‘a’ has been my reality.

I’m stuck in a rut. A sleep until noon, snack all day, and watch Netflix kind of rut. I’ve lost the motivation to do anything actually worthwhile, and I hate it. I hate wasting time, and I hate the effect that being alone for hours and having no plans has on me. It makes me overthink, and for a girl that suffers with anxiety, that’s the worst thing I could do.

So, back to wanderlust. The word itself sounds magical, and I would like to believe that the reality of it really is. I don’t want to spend the entirety of my life in the same place and if now is the best time to travel, I want to do exactly that. 

It’s nearly 1am, and these are the kinds of things that I like to dwell upon. This post isn’t planned, nor will it be re-written many times, because writing organically is my favourite part of being a writer. Editing is often needed, but in this case, I feel like it would take away the sense of spontaneity that seems to suite this topic so much. Pinterest searches based on wanderlust and travel inspired me to write this. The pictures and quotes reminded me of what I’ve dreamt about for so long. Wanderlust has once again clouded my mind, and this time, I think I’ll willingly allow it to do so. 

‘Not all who wander are lost’

What does wanderlust mean to you? Let me know in the comments.

Until next time keep dreaming x

4 thoughts on “Experiencing wanderlust…

  1. A strong desire to travel and experience. I always wanted to travel and just experience life more (even if close to home). In the last couple years I’ve gone to my favorite band’s hometown for an annual fan festival, visited Jamaica, attended a late night talk show at Comic
    Con. As I recently wrote in a post, you always have to dream and plan. If you do, there’s a chance. If you don’t, it won’t happen at all. I always plan for more than I can do, in hopes that at least some become reality. Hope you plan some fun adventures soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds like you’ve definitely had some great trips! It’s such a coincidence that you mentioned planning since I have literally been planning a trip away with a friend today πŸ™‚ I will definitely keep your ‘dream and plan’ concept in mind though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

