Uncategorized

A little discussion about a big issue…

This post is going to be about the EU referendum* that occurred in the UK on the 23rd June. It’s not a chance for me to force my opinion on any of you, or complain about the fact that I was disappointed with the Brexit* result. It’s simply a post which will enable me to rationally discuss a controversial topic without hopefully annoying anyone. My blog is not, nor has it ever been, a platform to discuss political issues. However, I have previously discussed important events that have occurred in my life and quite frankly, I think this has officially made it to the list.

* A vote which enabled UK citizens aged 18+ to decide whether we remain in or leave the European union.

*Britain’s decision to exit the EU.

Whether you are from the UK or not, you have most likely heard about the vote that has essentially changed our country. Of course the word ‘changed’ is completely theoretical, considering the fact that we are experiencing a period of the unknown, where the future changes are yet to be determined. Nevertheless, you hopefully understand what I’m trying to say.

So, the results are in and nearly 52% of UK voters chose to leave the European Union compared to 48% of people who voted to remain. To most it would seem that democracy resulted in a vote to leave and the debates that have lasted months should finally end. Unfortunately, as I log onto Facebook and see the abundance of comments in disagreement with one another, it would seem that this is definitely not going to become yesterday’s news anytime soon.

Having watched the news obsessively for days, and learnt how badly explained the whole referendum was, it’s no surprise that people are still confused. It’s now being publicly declared that some leave voters are feeling regretful, some remain voters made their decision in accordance with their fear of being labelled racist, and some other people didn’t even know their vote would count. Basically, if I’m going to keep this as unbiased as possible, some of these rumours may apply to you, but they most likely don’t. As for myself, I voted remain because staying in the EU seemed to provide a more stable future for myself and this country, not because I thought all leave voters were racist.

Now before you stop reading, or start typing a comment about me being a biased ‘remain’ voter, please just hear me out.

Yes I was a part of the 75% of 18-24 year olds that a) chose to vote and b) chose to remain a part of the EU. Yes I was disappointed when I randomly woke up at  5:30am (a very unusual occurrence for me) and discovered that the UK had voted to leave. However, I am not willing to have a pointless argument with opposing voters over social media. I am not willing to waste any more time trying to explain why I voted the way I did. After all, we live in a world where many things, especially politics, cause divisions between people. Divisions which will only create, rather than solve an increasing number of problems.

Its been a few days and our prime minister has resigned, which is far from ideal in the midst of a national crisis. We also have to deal with the fact that the value of the pound has dropped and our economy will most likely face a series of problems that we could all do without. Another major effect of this referendum is not only the UK separating from the EU, but the UK separating as a whole. It’s no secret that Scotland and Northern Ireland had a greater percentage of remain voters. Therefore, I can’t say that I’m surprised that Scotland are considering independence from Britain in the form of another referendum, and Northern Ireland are thinking about rejoining with the rest of their country. As if all of this wasn’t enough to consider, there is even a petition to have a 2nd referendum since the small margin between leave and remain meant that the majority was less than 60%. Our country is being divided, MPs are turning against one another and resigning, and people are either claiming we are going to make Britain great again, or panicking over our impending doom. Whether you are happy with the result or not, you have to admit, our country is a bit of a mess right now.

Now, before I end this unintentionally long post, I would like to say this. I voted remain and I was disappointed that some leave voters didn’t seem to have a valid argument for making such an important decision. However, unlike some people, I’m not going to point the finger and claim that you shouldn’t have voted the way you did. After all, if you believe that you’re going to miraculously make someone admit their wrong, or change their political opinion, then you’re as deluded as the people who didn’t think their vote would actually count at all.

Lastly, if you’re still reading this, I’m asking you to think before you engage in another online argument, whether you mean well or not. It’s just as frustrating when people are unwilling to accept your point of view, as it is when their imposing their own on you. Maybe if people had spent less time trying to convince others they were right, and instead spent more time educating themselves, we wouldn’t be in the situation we are right now.

I’ve tried to write this post as reasonably as possible, so if you would like to comment, please do the same.

Until next time keep dreaming x

 

5 thoughts on “A little discussion about a big issue…

  1. This was so well written considering how much of a touchy subject this is right now. I’ve spent ages writing out and deleting different comments to reply to this, but I also don’t want to upset/annoy anyone with my comment! I am however in agreement with you, I wish the lead up to the referendum wasn’t full of so many rubbish and confusing ‘facts’ and that there wasn’t so much hatred on every inch of social media right now (which is absolutely ridiculous!) I’m hoping before too long we will learn to unite together and get through this journey together because chances are it’s not going to be an easy ride.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting! I also spent a while trying to write this post for the same reason as you. I completely agree with what you have written above, especially about everyone uniting together šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your comments are interesting and well thought-out. I am not a citizen of the UK, except back in my DNA a couple hundred years. I like your site, it is nicely produced. One thing that I do want to say is this: You ARE a writer….not an “aspiring writer”…by virtue of writing well and intelligently, and being published in your blog. In fact, if there was a “re-blog” button on your blog (by the Likes and comments) I would ask to re-publish this post on my site.
    I am not primarily a political writer either, although I am an Historian by education and degree. I write general commentary, poetry, publish a lot of photos, pics of flowers and cats and travel…write opinion and political stuff as well. I also write a lot about the tales of woe about computing, blogging, publishing photos…etc. My url is http://mumbletymuse.com. My site is called SOMETIMES. Please visit, if you like. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Just in case you still want to re-blog this post, the button should be near the like button (I think). I’ll definitely check out your blog šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

