Uncategorized

Storytime: My first booktube video

I’ve been watching YouTube for years and I’ve considered becoming a YouTuber many times. Creating videos seemed like a fun way to pass the time and connecting with more people from around the world made it seem so much more appealing. So, after much deliberation I decided to film my first BookTube video and see if I could manage the whole ‘talking to a camera’ thing. Unfortunately, my first video was a complete fail. I stuttered throughout, lost track of what I was supposed to be talking about and cringed when I watched it back. Unsurprisingly, I decided not to waste my time creating another video, at least for a little while anyway.

A few months later I decided to attempt filming another BookTube video. Having filmed the first one the summer before I started uni, and the second one when I’d nearly finished my first year, I thought I would notice some kind of improvement. You may be thinking, why would that make a difference? The truth is, university made me step out of my comfort zone and generally made me a more confident person. So, as I pressed record on my iPhone 6 (no fancy camera in sight), I genuinely thought that I would create a video I’d be happy with. Let’s just say that I wasn’t entirely correct. Nevertheless, I thought it would be a refreshing change to post this, and I hope you enjoy the video πŸ™‚

(Disclaimer – I originally couldn’t add the video to this post because I don’t have the premium blogging package. So, in order to share it I’ve ironically had to upload it to YouTube haha.)

Why share it now?

Recently my blog has been getting a fair amount of new followers and since the video is a ‘5 facts about me’, I thought it would be appropriate to share it with all of you. Also, I mention my blog so it’s totally relevant, right? :p

Did you enjoy the video? Do you have a YouTube channel? Let me know in the comments.

Until next time keep dreaming x

 

4 thoughts on “Storytime: My first booktube video

  1. Great job, Melis! Much more polished and together than most “first” videos. And I completely understood what you said, it wasn’t the thick Newcastle accent I was expecting it to be! I do watch a little bit of booktube too, but it does cause me serious book envy (already salivating over the books sitting next to you! What are the titles?). I wanted to do a podcast, but because soundcloud and premium blogging here costs quite a lot of money, I started a youtube channel instead. I upload poetry reading, and have uploaded a very giggly podcast and some bad karaoke! I do hope to make videos as well, once I have a decent camera, and learn to control the giggling! Here’s the link to my channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCal7EjHbUCgJPaTvwvm9tqQ

    Can you link your channel? I don’t know how to subscribe from the video here.

    P.S. Agree about the inspirational quotes, especially whilst having a bad day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

