Creative writing · Uncategorized

Camp Nanowrimo winner 2016

It’s been nearly two weeks since camp Nanowrimo ended, and I was overjoyed that I’d actually manage to reach the 50,000 word goal! Unlike some people, I’m not a fast writer, nor can I convince myself to write 2500 words everyday. Nevertheless, I made sure that I kept to a schedule, and set myself my own word goals to stay on target.

What was your camp Nanowrimo project?

It was my current WIP, which means it was technically a second draft of my dystopian novel.

What encouraged you to keep going?

Firstly, I am still determined to finish my second draft before I start uni, which means writing everyday, and writing well. Secondly…Scrivener. I’ve been wanting to get scrivener for as long as writing started to become more than just a petty hobby. So many authors seemed to love it and I wanted to finally take a step up, say goodbye to the endless pages I had to scroll through on word, and really hone my writing. Just in case you don’t know, you get a discount for Scrivener when you win camp Nanowrimo. That’s a pretty great incentive to keep going if you ask me.

***

Since finishing camp Nanowrimo, I’ve managed to write as often as possible, even if my current word count is only 54,580 words. My time has also been spent re-organising my work on Scrivener, which is a lot more tedious than you would think. Neverthlesss, I think I’m on track to reaching my end of draft 2 goal by the end of September.

If you’re struggling to stay motivated, just remember, you can’t publish an unfinished story. First drafts will never be perfect, but they’re better than a blank page.

Until next time keep dreaming x

 

3 thoughts on “Camp Nanowrimo winner 2016

    1. Thank you! My best advice is write as much as you can but don’t pressure yourself too much. I struggled last year and I only completed this one because I was editing and not starting from scratch. Good luck πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

