Random comtemplations · Uncategorized

A brief re-telling of a teenage life.

I’m nineteen, a teen reaching the end of her teenage years, and ready to embark on the scary prospect of adult life. I’m somebody who knows that I still have so much to learn, yet isn’t afraid to say that sometimes I believe my views are right. The girl, whom I refer to as myself, may dream like a child, but she’s Β more than just a dreamer.

I’m nineteen, a teen reaching the end of her teenage years, yet I still feel unheard, overlooked, patronised even. Β A young person whose achievements are often remembered not because of what they successfully accomplished but the early age in which they managed to actually accomplish it. Although, in all honesty, the latter doesn’t mean what I had always hoped it would, nor does it refer to me personally. Sixteen year old me would be so disappointed that I didn’t publish the story I’d believed in so much. The story I still believe in. I guess bestselling teen author wasn’t meant to be after all.

I’m nineteen, a teen reaching the end of her teenage years. I’m still a student and I will be when society tells me I’m old enough to be a grown up. In the grand scheme of things, I won’t be different and life shouldn’t be either. But I know it will be. My twenties always seemed so far away, until they weren’t. The time passed by so quickly that I forgot to keep track, to enjoy the moments I was supposed to cherish and ignore the ones I should’ve just forgot. I say I won’t make that mistake again but even I know that’s a lie.

I’m nineteen, a teen reaching the end of her teenage years. I had so many things to accomplish before my twenties and so many places I wanted to see. I still have an entire lifetime of course, but it won’t be a memory within my teenage years. It will be strange, and scary, and daunting at first. I’ll change and I’ll grow and I’ll make mistakes. It will all be different when the number changes, even if you reassure me it won’t.

I’m nineteen, a teen reaching the end of her teenage years. Β It wasn’t always fun, or easy, but it was real. It shaped me into a much stronger, confident person. It taught me that we all have weaknesses and flaws that are better to accept than resent. I learnt a lot, and although I don’t feel ready, I’m hopeful that I’ll learn so much more.

Future generations will turn thirteen, then eventually nineteen, and they’ll feel the same. Just another teen reaching the end of their teenage years. Just another life waiting to start.

Until next time keep dreaming x

6 thoughts on “A brief re-telling of a teenage life.

  1. Take time throughout your twenties to sit back and reflect on how not only you but how things around you have changed. I can honestly say I didn’t notice how I’d changed since turning twenty until I looked back [I’m 25 now]. Oh! and remember that you’re still really young, older people still like to remind me that “I’m still a baby” compared to them. Youth doesn’t leave us just yet x Most importantly. Enjoy them, discover yourself, and have one hell of a time.

    Jamie-Leigh x x
    MissJamieleigh | http://missjamie-leigh.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  2. Take time throughout your twenties to sit back and reflect on how not only you but how things around you have changed. I can honestly say I didn’t notice how I’d changed since turning twenty until I looked back [I’m 25 now]. Oh! and remember that you’re still really young, older people still like to remind me that “I’m still a baby” compared to them. Youth doesn’t leave us just yet x Most importantly. Enjoy them, discover yourself, and have one hell of a time.

    Jamie-Leigh x x
    MissJamieleigh | http://missjamie-leigh.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely will try to have a good time haha. I don’t want to look back and regret opportunities that I didn’t take because I was afraid to get out of my comfort zone. Thanks for commenting πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

