Uncategorized

Lets make this new year a great one…

Every year passes by faster than the last and I find myself getting nervous that time is suddenly speeding up.

When I was younger, I would write a single new years resolution only when I felt I needed to. Back then, I remember that I accomplished them as well. So, this year, I don’t want to set myself resolutions that I know I will only break. I don’t want to set goals that will only hurt me when I realise I could never have achieved them anyway. I just want to end 2017 with the reassurance that I made myself happier than the previous year. After all, aren’t we all just hoping for the same thing?

I could write a list and feel accomplished every time I managed to tick something off it, but I’m not going to. A list seems too impersonal for a blog that has became anything but. Instead, I’m going to share a letter I’ve written to myself in the hope that it inspires others to do the same. Enjoy πŸ™‚

Dear future me,

In 2017, I want you to achieve a small list of goals. Goals that you don’t want to achieve for anyone but yourself. Good luck, I know you can do it.

Learn about self-care on your way to success and make sure that you don’t let that little ball of anxiety overtake like it once did. Write. Write like the author you aspire to be. Don’t do it because you’ve told the world your aspirations and you don’t want to fail. Do it for yourself. Do it because before this blog and your degree, you were just a teenager spending her free time believing in a story that the world is yet to read. You’ll fall in love with writing again if you do this, trust me.

Now, I know this may be difficult, but please put yourself out there. Say yes to the small things and don’t be so uptight. You’re young and time is moving so fast that you won’t be young forever. In just over a year, you’ll be faced with the harsh realities of adulthood that you’re probably not prepared for. Don’t let them daunt you too much, I’m sure you’ll figure it out.

Find a hobby other that writing. Find it and stick to it for more than a week at a time. I know you think you know who you are and who you want to be, but I don’t think you’re ready to decide just yet. If you don’t try to see the world from a different perspective, then maybe you’ll never see it at all.

Lastly, and definitely the most expensive one of the lot, travel. I would love to tell you to go on that road trip around America or watch the sunset over Santorini, but I can’t. I told myself that I would be realistic and I can’t go back on my word now. So, I ask as a concerned friend who knows you better than most, please travel somewhere new. You’ve wanted to do it for so long that I think it’s time that you did. After all, you’re growing up in a world that changes more with every passing second, so you better make sure that you don’t miss a single one.

From,

The girl you are now.

***

For the world, 2016 has been far from great. For me, it’s been okay. And for a girl who has struggled for a few years, okay is more than I could’ve hoped for. So, as the clock changes tonight, I want to leave one lasting message…

Lets make this year a great one. Lets accept one another and learn that this world isn’t meant for only a special few. Lets live without regrets because if 2016 has taught us anything, life is short and we are powerless to the clock that won’t stop ticking.

Until next time keep dreaming x

Leave a Reply

