Creative writing · Uncategorized

My writing story: unedited

We’re all at different stages in life and yet we write. We write because sometimes, when things just don’t seem to be going our way, words are the only constant in our life. We also write because our life, and the identity that is our own, would be incomplete without it. This is my writing story: the unedited version.

I started writing songs when I was seven, after my granddad had died.

I started writing poetry at the age of nine when my songs were better spoken than sung.

I started my first novel at thirteen about a girl who was like me, yet also somebody I wanted to be.

I didn’t finish my first novel at thirteen.

I started another novel after that.

I didn’t finish that novel either.

I started my current novel when I was sixteen.

I gave up on that novel when I was seventeen.

I found it again when I was nineteen and finished the first draft.

I started draft 2 and finished it in 2016.

I started draft 3 at the end of 2016.

I intend to finish draft 3 in a few months…

***

This is my writing story. This is how I became passionate for the art of putting words together. It wasn’t simple, but as you will already know, life rarely is. If you want to create a post about your own writing journey, or you already have, let me know in the comments.

Until next time keep dreaming x

2 thoughts on “My writing story: unedited

Leave a Reply

