Random comtemplations · Uncategorized

It’s all about perspective

Life is all about perspective. It’s about seeing the good through the bad, like the small patch of sunlight that makes itself visible on a cloudy day. It’s about appreciating the small things, and overlooking the moments that it cannot do well to dwell on. It’s about more than the number of likes you receive on a social media post, or the number of friends you have. It’s all about perspective, or most importantly, the perspective that you inevitably choose to have.

My mindset has changed over the years, most of all within the past few months. Maybe it’s just a product of growing up and realising that, in a year, my life will not revolve around the grades that I manage to achieve. It will revolve around decisions that I must take. Choices that may not determine how I will lead the rest of my life, but will have an effect on how much time I waste along the way.

Recently, having finished the thought – provoking book “The Handmaid’s tale” by Margaret Atwood, I decided to start reading an equally as important book. This book is called “The Opposite of Loneliness” and for the first time in a while, I opened the first page and started reading from the very beginning. I didn’t start from chapter one, but the introduction. The introduction that told me about the author, who had an entire life ahead of her, yet had sadly died in a car accident just days after graduating from Yale. She was a writer full of promise, with the mindset that life will not simply wait for us to catch up, nor will the opportunities that we seek.

Marina Keegan had the optimistic perspective that seems to be only fleeting for many of us. Β The perspective that I now wish to put into practice. For to overlook the small achievements, and tell yourself that you are not good enough, is to ruin your own life. To let failure, and rejections control your outlook, is to accept that winning will never be an option. For we cannot spend our days overthinking our failures if we are to achieve our next success. Β We’ve only got one life to live, so we might as well make it a good one.

Until next time keep dreaming x

2 thoughts on “It’s all about perspective

  1. I found Marina Keegan’s book really inspiring in that way too, it made me reevaluate some of my priorities. I’m glad you found it a thought-provoking reading too. πŸ™‚

    It is indeed all about the perspective – and hindsight is a wonderful thing! As much as it’s all well and good to do the best you can at university, it’s not the be-all-and-end-all. Sure I managed to really push myself and get a first-class degree but literally no one since then has asked me what grade I achieved. In the grand scheme of things it doesn’t matter. It’s more about the skills you learn, what you learn about yourself, and the opportunities that you can make and take for yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for this Emma! I think sometimes I get overwhelmed by the pressure I put on myself to get a first. However, I’m trying to relax and just appreciate my time at university. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

